Peach Mango Salsa

Fruit salsas and I have never been quite comfortable with each other.  I think it’s because I often feel they are too acidic and don’t have enough of a savory quality to mix well with the savory things they’re meant to be paired with.  And well, who knows why fruit salsas feel the way they do about me.

Anyway.

One day as I stared at my blessedly and abundantly filled fruitbowl, I felt my heart softening a little.  Maybe I should give it another chance, I thought.  I picked up a mango and gave it a little squeeze.  Its flesh yielded under my fingers, but was still a bit on the firm side.  I like my mangoes on the riper side when I eat them uncooked, but since I wasn’t sure how the texture of a riper mango would hold up, I went with slightly less ripe.  Next time, I think I’ll throw all caution in the wind and go even riper.  I’m adventurous like that.

Not all fruit salsas out there include veggies, but I decided to include just a little bit of bell pepper, tomato and  red onion to trick myself into thinking the fruit was savory too. It also made things nice and colorful.

Also, don’t forget the garlic.  And SALT.  I think both of these, especially the salt, were key here for me.  I could barely taste the salt, but it really brought the savory and sweet flavors together and brought out the sweetness of the fruit.  So don’t be afraid to increase the salt a little at a time and taste in between until you reach that “aha” point. Then add a dash more.

PEACH MANGO SALSA

Ingredients
1 mango, medium chopped
2 small peaches or nectarines, medium chopped
1/4 c. orange bell pepper, chopped
1/2 of large roma tomato (seeds removed), chopped
3 Tbsp red onion, finely reminced
1 extra large clove garlic, crushed
2-3 Tbsp cilantro (leaves only), finely chopped
1/2 medium lime, juiced
salt to taste (I think I used between 1/8-1/4 tsp)
optional:  1 small chili pepper (e.g. jalapeño, poblano, etc.), chopped (remove seeds for less heat)

Directions
Optional prep:  If fruit is slightly underripe, mix with some lime juice and 1/2 tsp of sugar and let macerate for ~15 minutes before making the salsa.

1.  Combine all ingredients in a bowl.
3.  Mix.
4.  Taste and adjust.
5.  Let sit in refrigerator for a couple hours to allow flavors to meld and mellow.
6.  Eat!

Ok ok. That bit of green is actually some parsley I planted purely for aesthetic reasons. This is two day-old salsa, and the cilantro had turned an ugly ugly brown. Phew, I feel much better now that that’s all cleared up.

Leave a Reply

