Super Simple Spiced Pears & Yogurt

I’m like a Chinese grandma;  I like my water hot and my fruit at least room temperature. The only way I’ll go anywhere near fruit in the wintertime is if we take it out of the fridge and leave it out for a while.

One minus three-degree morning, I willed myself out of my nest of soft flannel blankets, pulled on some snowpants and a hoodie, and headed downstairs.  To my dismay, the fruit bowl was empty.  “Microwave an orange,” my mom suggested, eyes never leaving her magazine.  I yanked a cold, hard pear out of the fridge and scowled at it.  

Warm up, pear.  

We weren’t getting anywhere.  Then, in a flash of brilliance – as much brilliance as can be mustered on a cruel winter morning – I thought, when life gives you cold, unwelcoming fruit, roast it in some butter and nutmeg.  ROAST it until its buttery, nutmeggy fragrance envelops you comfortingly.  ROAST IT until its unyielding flesh turns soft and golden and has to radiate warmth.

Ok, so I didn’t roast it;  I ended up sautéing it.  But “sautée” just doesn’t have that same biting, vengeful ring to it.

Once the poor pear slices were conquer- I mean, nice and hot and browned, I plopped them into a bowl with some yogurt that had been warming at room temperature and smiled benignly down at them.  They looked warm, smelled warm, felt warm, and tasted warm.

SUPER SIMPLE SPICED PEARS & YOGURT
Yields one hearty serving

Ingredients
1 firm pear, cut into 1/4″ slices
small pat of butter
pinch of nutmeg, or to taste
yogurt of choice
optional:  sweetener of choice (honey, maple syrup, brown sugar, etc.)

Directions
1.  Melt pat of butter in pan over medium to medium-high heat.
2.  Add pinch of nutmeg and let it cook a little in the puddle of butter.
3.  When you can smell the nutmeg, add the pear slices to the pan and toss until the pears are somewhat evenly coated in the butter/nutmeg.
4.  Turn the heat up to medium-high to high heat.  Cook until golden/browned.
5.  Serve with yogurt and drizzled/sprinkled with sweetener if desired.

 

5 responses to “Super Simple Spiced Pears & Yogurt

Leave a Reply

