Twice-Baked Brioche (Almond Brioche)

Twice-Baked Brioche I call it twice-baked brioche because that’s how it was introduced to me at Flour (where else :).  It seems most simply call it almond brioche though.  There’s also something that looks similar involving almond syrup and sometimes orange zest, called bostock.

I love the endpieces - the crust gives and disintegrates as soon as you start to take a bite.

I love the endpieces – the crust gives and disintegrates as soon as you start to take a bite.

Before I learned these things, I had tried googling it to figure out what the almond-y layer between the bread and almonds was.  “Twice-baked brioche.”  Nothing.  “Fat brioche slices almond paste sliced almonds.”  Nothing. I had almost resigned myself to a twice-baked briocheless existence upon leaving Boston and thus Flour when one day, I was browsing through a friend’s Dorie Greenspan cookbook and happened upon an almond cream recipe.  Huh.  Lightbulb.  I scribbled the directions on the back of an old receipt, and drove home clutching the precious slip of paper (turns out my Flour cookbook has a frangipane recipe that looks about the same.  Oops).

IMG_0673

The layers: 1. Delicate toasted almonds 2. Almond cream 3. Butter from almond cream soaking into the brioche 4. tender brioche 5. Flaky brioche crust

Once you have the brioche, this is almost embarassingly simple to make.  So much so, that I realized I seriously need to exercise my deductive reasoning muscles and try harder to figure things out when the answer isn’t right in front of me (which it actually was – even worse!).

I think I might like this even better than the chocolate brioche.  Wait, huh what? Almonds more than chocolate?  What is happening to me??  Who am I?

TWICE-BAKED BRIOCHE
Inspired by Joanne Chang, Flour Bakery
Yields ~9 slices 

Ingredients
1 loaf Brioche, sliced into 1-inch thick slices (either fresh or stale brioche works well)
1 recipe Almond cream
~1.5 cups sliced almonds, slightly toasted

Directions
1.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
2.  Spread a generous layer of almond cream on a slice of brioche.
3.  Sprinkle sliced almonds on top of the almond cream (try to make sure the almonds are in contact with the cream, otherwise they’ll fall off and make a mess when eating).
4.  Arrange slices on a baking sheet and bake at 350 degrees F for 10-15 minutes.  The almond cream should puff up when done.

IMG_0644

Puffed almond cream.

5.  Sprinkle with powdered sugar and serve. powdered sugar outline

7 responses to “Twice-Baked Brioche (Almond Brioche)

  1. Thank you SO much! I’ve loved those pastries since having them in NY, but can’t find them anywhere local. I made them right away. So easy and perfectly delicious and elegant.

Leave a Reply

