Frankenpoof: Brioche Au Chocolat

…that’s fancy for chocolate brioche (brioche au chocolat, not frankenpoof).

IMG_0613

This is yet another one of my favorite things to get from Flour Bakery (why yes, I have many favorite things from there).  I used to be able to find them pretty regularly during my afternoon hot chocolate runs, but in recent years, I haven’t been able to.  I’m guessing they either stopped making as many as they used to (which would be tragic), or they’ve become really popular and sell out in the mornings (still sad for me, but not as tragic because that just means greater assurance that Flour Bakery will be pumping out treats for a while).

Brioche au chocolat Since I had dough left over from my brioche loaf run, I used half of the remainder for this.  When I consulted my cookbook to see how to shape these pastries, I scoffed.  The picture showed a strip of chocolate brioche.  A strip.  This is not the chocolate brioche of the brick and mortar Flour.  I decided to ignore the directions and do it my own clever little way.  After filling and shaping the babies, I put them aside to rise.  Oh yeah… rise.  I had forgotten they were supposed to at least double in size, and when I pulled them out of their toasty little haven 2 hours later, I was aghast.  My cute little personal-sized pastries had transformed into frankenpoofs the size of my face.

IMG_0588

AH MUNNA EAT CHOO.  (Wait, is it saying that to me, or am I saying that to it?)

Oh well, bloated monstrosities are tasty too.  I don’t discriminate.

IMG_0620

BRIOCHE AU CHOCOLAT
Joanne Chang, Flour Bakery

Ingredients
1/2 recipe of brioche dough
1 recipe of pastry cream
4 oz. (114 g) bittersweet chocolate (62-70% cacao), finely chopped  (scant 3/4 c. bittersweet chocolate chips)
1 egg

Directions
1.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper

2.  On a floured work surface, roll out the dough into a rectangle about 4″ wide and 1/4″ thick.  Position the rectangle so a long side is facing you.

(The 4″ wide measurement should give you a “normal” sized pastry, not a frankenpoof)

3.  Spread the pastry cream over the entire surface of the dough.

IMG_0576

Don’t be afraid of spreading to the edge of the ends like I was.

Sprinkle the chocolate over the bottom half of the rectangle.  Fold the top half of the rectangle completely over the bottom half, then press down to seal the edges.

IMG_0577

1) Chocolate on HALF only (I forgot); and 2) Yes, my chocolate is all mangled because our food processor has a hard time with it.

4.  Cut the filled dough into ~2.5″ long pieces, or however many pieces you want (just remember, it is supposed to double in size).

(If you’re making ahead of time,  this is where you can tightly wrap the pastries in plastic wrap and freeze them.  They can be frozen for up to one week.  To bake them, thaw them in the refrigerator overnight, or at RT for 2-3 hours.)

5.  Carefully place the brioche on the baking sheet, leaving ~1.5 inches between the pastries.  Cover the pastries lightly with plastic wrap and place in a warm spot to proof until the dough is puffy, pillowy and soft (~2 hours).

IMG_0579

Nice normal-sized brioches loosely covered with saran wrap.

2 hours later…

IMG_0583

Rawr.

IMG_0582

7.  Whisk the egg until blended.  Gently brush the tops of the pastries with the beaten egg.

8.  Bake for 35-45 minutes, or until golden brown.  Let cool on the baking sheet for 20-30 minutes.

IMG_0597

The egg gives it a nice shiny fancy pants finish.

9.  Best served warm or within several hours of baking.  They can be stored in an air-tight container at RT for up to 1 day.  It’s recommended to warm them up in a 300-degree F oven for several minutes before serving.

IMG_0607

They’re kind of cute the way they are.

3 responses to “Frankenpoof: Brioche Au Chocolat

  1. I have a sweet tooth and your blog is just right for me! I am dying to see your next “Sweet” recipe !

  2. Pingback: Deconstructed rosewater savarin, black star pastry style | Saucy gander·

Leave a Reply

