Passionfruit Curd

Passion FruitMy latest fruit obsession is the passionfruit.  Similar to the lemon, it has a bright, sunshiny, tart flavor.  On the outside, it’s wrinkly and unassuming. Inside, it’s anything but.

Wrinkly and unassuming.

Unfortunately, it’s been difficult to find them where I live.  The only places I’ve had luck finding them are at Russo’s and a random Hannaford’s up in Maine.  I’ve even been hard-pressed to find canned passionfruit purée.  When I finally got a hold of a couple, I thought long and carefully about what I wanted to do with them.  I finally settled on making curd – something in which the fruit was the center of attention, packed a punch of flavor, and I was reasonably confident making (passion fruit bars were tempting, but I had never made them before).  I also figured curd was versatile, and could be used in a bunch of things, like tartlets, the above-mentioned bars, between layers in a cake, etc., and eaten with yogurt, toast, etc.

Passion Fruit + Yogurt

Passionfruit pulp + Yogurt

To make the curd, I used the same fail-proof method of beating the eggs into the butter and sugar mentioned in my last post, but followed Drizzle & Dip’s  ingredient ratios.  I had a little less passion fruit pulp than was called for, and was too lazy to adjust the egg ratio appropriately, so I rounded up to the next whole egg.  The curd came out quite rich and slightly more eggy than I would have liked, so note to self:  round down next time!  I also personally prefer my curd tangier, so I would cut the sugar a little next time too. Regardless, the curd was quite tasty, and had a nice consistency.

Make your own sunshine:

PASSIONFRUIT CURD
Ingredient ratios from Drizzle & Dip
Method from Elinor Klevens on Fine Cooking

Ingredients
3 large Eggs
60 g butter
1/2 cup sugar (I would cut this next time…maybe ~1/3 of a cup?)
1/2 cup passion fruit pulp (strained or unstrained)

Directions
1.  Beat the butter and sugar with an electric mixer ~2 mins.
2.  Add eggs one at a time, incorporating well between the first and the second (after adding the second, the butter seems to separate into little bits in mixture).
3.  Add the passionfruit pulp and mix well.  Little pieces of butter may be suspended in the mixture.
4.  Transfer the mixture to a pot and heat on low-medium heat, stirring constantly.  The mixture will become smooth and opaque as the butter melts.
5.  The curd is ready when  (1) your spatula/spoon leaves a clear trail (which disappears quickly) in the bottom but not so long that the curd becomes thick and the trail is wide and slow to spread, (2) the curd coats a spoon, or 3) a thermometer reads 170 degrees F (Around 160 degrees, the texture will begin to thicken. Around 165 degrees, you will notice that scraping the bottom of the bowl matters).

In case you were wondering what passion fruit pulp looks like.

In case you were wondering what passionfruit pulp looks like.

IMG_8631

Leave a Reply

