The Bundt I: Cream Cheese Pound Cake

I’m really going to miss having a KitchenAid stand mixer at my disposal when I move.  I still remember when my mom made the plunge and bought one twelve years ago.  We were amazed at how much easier and more efficient everything was.  In preparation for my move, I’ll be getting a lot of KitchenAid-made-easier baking out of my system, so the next flurry of posts is going to be baked goods-centric.  Starting with…

My first pound cake/bundt cake:

I admit it.  I’m patting myself on the back right now.

Thanks to Stars0987/Wong’s Kitchen’s tips on how to get a bundt cake out of its mold safely, I knew to butter and flour the thing to death before pouring the batter in.  This beauty plopped out without any coaxing at all.  Thank you, littlechum and hobbit!

I made this cake as a refreshment for Grace Chapel’s Tuesday ESOL classes, and was happy to find it well-received.  I felt a little nervous about it, because I didn’t think much of it texture and flavor-wise when I tried it straight out of the oven (It seemed dry to me, and also lacking in flavor since I ran out of vanilla extract – I tried adding maple syrup  in lieu of vanilla as some advised, but I don’t think it did much).  Fortunately, people seemed to like it a lot, and some even went back for seconds and thirds.  Several mentioned it did not have the heaviness and intense buttery flavor most poundcakes have, and that they actually liked it that way (I confess, I don’t really know because I don’t really eat poundcake).

Based on feedback, I think I’m up for trying this one again – with vanilla and a shorter baking time.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake
adapted from Elizabeth’s Edible Experience
yields one 10-inch cake

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups butter, RT
  • 8 oz. cream cheese, RT
  • 2-2.5 cups of sugar (I like things less sweet, so I cut it from the original 3 cups.  Sugar absorbs moisture from the air though, so if you go with the lower sugar content, you might want to replace the lost moisture some other way – sour cream?  yogurt?  creme fraiche?)
  • 6 large eggs
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbs vanilla extract

Directions
1.  Beat butter and cream cheese on medium speed until creamy.  Do not overbeat and introduce too much air if you want the dense pound cake-like consistency.

2.  Gradually add the sugar, beating well.
3.  Add eggs one at a time, beating until combined.

4.  Sift 3 cups of flour;  Combine flour and salt.
5.  Gradually add the flour/salt mixture to the butter mixture, beating at a low speed until just blended after each addition.

6.  Stir in the vanilla.
7.  Pour into the prepared bundt pan.
8.  Smooth out the batter with a spatula (it’s going to be thick).


9.  Bake at 300 degrees F for 1 hour and 40 minutes, or until a toothpick stuck in the center comes out clean.  (I would start checking around 1.5 hours, maybe earlier;  our oven tends to run cooler, and it was already a little dry at 1 hour and 40 minutes).
10.  Cool in pan on a rack x 10-15 minutes.  Then, remove from the pan and let cool completely on rack.

You can’t tell from this picture, but the top is kind of crispy and caramelized.  YUM.

Leave a Reply

