Shakshuka (Israeli Poached Eggs in Spicy Tomato Sauce)

Shakshouka

tomato sauce + pristine white table cloth = danger

When I saw this on Smitten Kitchen, I knew I had to try it.  It has some of my favorite things:  Poached Eggs. Tomatoes.  Cheese.  Warm soupy goodness.  Poached eggs.

And it’s super easy!  What more could one ask for?

Look at all those carotenoids.
closeup
I feel like I’m getting my day’s worth of lycopene just by looking at this picture.

As soon as it was done cooking, I ate a bowlful (including both eggs), and realized something…..Eggs are really filling.  Oof.

yolk

This is definitely going into my recipes file.  It’s tasty, nutritious, simple, cheap, filling and feel-good.  And did I mention it has poached eggs?

SHAKSHUKA
adapted from Smitten Kitchen
serves 4 to 6

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 5 Anaheim chiles or 3 jalapeños, stemmed, seeded, and finely chopped (I used 3 Poblano chiles, b/c the store didin’t have the others;  the final product was not spicy at all)
  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped
  • 5 cloves garlic, crushed then sliced
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon paprika  
  • 1 28-ounce can whole peeled tomatoes, undrained
  • Kosher salt, to taste
  • Sugar, to taste
  • 6 eggs  (I used 2 b/c I was the only one eating it, and didn’t want leftover eggs.)
  • 1/2 cup feta cheese, crumbled (I don’t think this is a traditional part of the dish, but it’s good!)
  • 1 tablespoon chopped flat-leaf parsley
  • Warm pitas, for serving

Directions
1.  Heat oil in a 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat.
2.  Add chiles and onions and cook, stirring occasionally, until soft and golden brown, about 6 minutes.
3.  Add garlic, cumin, and paprika, and cook, stirring frequently, until garlic is soft, about 2 more minutes.
4.  Put tomatoes and their liquid into a medium bowl and crush with your hands.
5.  Add crushed tomatoes and their liquid to skillet along with 1/2 cup water, reduce heat to medium, and simmer, stirring occasionally, until thickened slightly, about 15 minutes.
6.  Season sauce with salt and sugar.
7.  Crack eggs over sauce so that eggs are evenly distributed across sauce’s surface. Cover skillet and cook until yolks are just set, about 5 minutes (Leave the stove on for this.  At first, I turned it off, like I usually do when poaching eggs in water, but when I checked back after 5 minutes, they looked as raw as when I first put them in.).
8.  Using a spoon, baste the whites of the eggs with tomato mixture, being careful not to disturb the yolk.
9.  Sprinkle shakshuka with feta and parsley and serve with pitas, for dipping.

in bowlYes, I took a bite of the pita and then tried to hide it.

Leave a Reply

